Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Archive > Layover's Lounge (Archive)

Old 01-25-2007, 11:31 PM
pjnickles

Default Arnold Transportation Services

Some may have seen a few posts by me here and know that I have a few years experience doing this gig, so when I ask this, I don't want the standard fare of answers. (ie. turnover rate, fleet size, operating area, financial accountings, etc.) Albeit they're important to some extent, they're really not a factor, considering all but one, turnover partially, that a driver has any control over.

I'm considering a change of scenery.
I'd like to know what's up with this above titled company?

I've searched over this site and found a few references about them, but nothing substantial. Mostly passing mentionings.

If anyone HERE actually "works" for them, I'd prefer hearing from you. If no one does, that's ok too. I'm just NOT after speculation and/or war stories. Save those for the coffee counters. I'm after the facts please.

I want to know about things like how honest the dispatch(ers) are, if there's alot of wasted UNPAID time, if the company keeps it's word, if you're treated well, if you get paid for what you do.

Simply, are they a decent outfit to work for, or are they another run of the mill....?

I ask this because this company really raked me over the coals BEFORE finally approving me to work for them. Not that I mind it. They're just doing their homework, as am I.

However, I was wondering how much of it is a bluff, (if any of it) that's designed to make prospective drivers feel "honored " to be "allowed" to work for them, or if it's just a ploy to make you think they have high standards and therefore, you'll be treated better than your "average" company driver. All in an effort to have you perform better?

Any of this make sense?