Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Archive > Layover's Lounge (Archive)

Old 05-22-2005, 01:40 AM
alexx0371

Default Automatic Transmissions

I used to drive for a company(in Deep South Texas) who for the most part had automatic transmissions trucks. I got the chance to drive a manual transmission trucks ( which I did not like so much because I would get nervous shifting on steep ramps like there are in the northwest and northeast part of the country). I like the automatic transmission better because it took away the guessing work, I'm new to the business and just had about a year and half of driving experience. I stopped driving but I want to go back into it. My question is which companies have automatic transmission trucks? Is there anyone who can tell me what companies use automatic transmissions? Any information or help is greatly appreciated.
Old 05-23-2005, 04:43 PM
dodgerc28

Default Auto-trans

Check into USXpress. They have an all auto trans fleet. I worked for them a few years back and had a decent experience there.
Old 05-23-2005, 07:47 PM
joerockhead

Default Auto

And that's the problems with useing these transmissions and new drivers. The industry is busy creating a bunch of "incompetent" drivers that couldn't run a 10 speed let alone an 18 speed.

The dumbing down of the industry....
Old 05-23-2005, 10:19 PM
alexx0371

Dodgerc28,Thank you driver I appricate taking the time to help me out.
Old 05-23-2005, 10:23 PM
alexx0371

As far as Joe rock head is concerned, I do know how to drive 10,13, and even 18 speed manual transmisson trucks. I was asking for help not sarcasm. I don't mind driving manual transmission truck I just haven't had that much experience and would drive them but I would prefere to drive automatic transmission trucks.
Old 05-24-2005, 06:53 AM
fozzy

Default This is the same type who...