Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Archive > Layover's Lounge (Archive)

Old 09-04-2001, 06:19 PM
catchcanman

Default Backing up a 18 wheeler?

Whats your opinions on handling backing up? The do's and dont's! The one thing that has me more nervous than anything. Is learning to back one of those big ****ers up!
Old 09-04-2001, 07:21 PM
sassydevil

Default My advice....

Although I am a newbie, the best advice I can offer is practice, practice, practice and oh yeah more practice. You still won't be perfect at it but every little bit helps. I spent and extra two weeks in class mastering my reverse operations and now have complete confidence in it. So just keep practicing. Jen
Old 09-04-2001, 07:36 PM
enstygatre

Default Backing

While backing; make sure your mirrors are adjusted properly, before beginning. Watch your mirrors, both sides. If you have any doubt whatsoever; pull your park brake; get out; walk around and look.
Old 09-04-2001, 07:37 PM
wallyg8tor

Default ccman

One of the most common problems with beginners, and at times even experienced, is oversteering.

When children are around the wife she always cautions them, "little bites, for little people!" Now I'm not saying you are a little person. I'm giving you that saying so it will come to mind when you back. Now I would not say the saying out loud when others are present, unless you want them "to wonder about Mr. Crazy Man!" But when you say that saying in your head you take little bites of the steering wheel.

If you get too big of bites you will be chasing your trailer all over the place. Which would be good if you're doing a serpentine back up, but not too good if you're trying to put it in a door or backing down an alley!

Keep on eye on your trailer tires and know where they are going.