Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Archive > Layover's Lounge (Archive)

Old 05-17-2005, 08:11 PM
jen_newbie

Default bridge laws

Hello could someone please explain the bridge laws to me? I am new to driving and my trainer really cant explain it to me. For instance the california bridge law is 40 ft. correct? My question is like when im scaling a load for california 40 ft is the 5th hole on my trailer. does that mean when im scaling it i can use holes 1 to 5 to get it legal? or i must use the 5th hole or farther back to get it legal?
thank you
JEN
Old 05-17-2005, 10:53 PM
sealord

Default Bridge Law

Bridge laws may vary by state and are explained in the front of a motor carriers road atlas.
Mine states Cali trailer requirements are "48 and 53' require 40' from kingpin to last axle".
My atlas had the previous info but may not be current.
There's also a Federal bridge law for calculating axle weight. BOL
Old 05-17-2005, 10:56 PM
sealord

Default Bridge Law

Bridge laws may vary by state and are explained in the front of a motor carriers road atlas.
Mine states Cali trailer requirements are "48 and 53' require 40' from kingpin to last axle".
My atlas had the previous info but may not be current.
There's also a Federal bridge law for calculating axle weight.
BTW, recommend you get another "trainer", one who knows what to teach and how to teach. "Doesn't know" isn't a satisfactory response from a trainer to a driver under instruction. BOL
Old 05-18-2005, 03:24 AM
aftershock

Default Trainer (?) Or not

Jen_newbie,

Your trainer didn't know the answer? I can understand that something so complicated with exact numbers, weights and measurements would be difficult to remember, especially considering it's not something you would use every day, or often. I think I'd reference the chart anyway, just to be sure my memory wasn't failing me. It's in the book, I have the book, and I think that's enough.