Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Archive > Layover's Lounge (Archive)

Old 04-18-1998, 03:26 PM
Danial

Default Should I become an Owner Operator???

I have been a company driver for many years and am thinking of making the jump to O/O. Can anyone tell me what the pros and cons are? How should I prepare myself and my family for the jump? Do I get my own authority or lease on with someone else? Any info you can give will be of help.

Old 04-18-1998, 05:10 PM
Knuckle

Default Re: Should I become an Owner Operator???

It all depends on what you want out of life and the trucking business. I am an O/O and have been one for 12 years. PROS: you are your own boss. You run when you want to and where you want to. CONS: Costly repairs and breakdowns. You have to be financially prepared for the worst situation. I like being independant far more than being a company driver. I never applied for my own authority as you can shop around and find a decent company to lease on to and use their authority. I looked long and hard and found a decent company where I don't have to run the east coast and no fingerprint loads.
My suggestion is to do plenty of research before you make a decision about buying a truck. Consider every avenue, leasing vs. buying, good warranty and etc. What ever you decide, good luck to you.
Knucklehead.
Danial on 4/18/98 2:26 PM said:

>>I have been a company driver for many years and am thinking of making the jump to O/O. Can anyone tell me what the pros and cons are? How should I prepare myself and my family for the jump? Do I get my own authority or lease on with someone else? Any info you can give will be of help.
>>
>>
>>

Old 04-18-1998, 06:14 PM
seriniti