Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Archive > Layover's Lounge (Archive)

Old 10-21-2001, 02:44 PM
rich1002

Default will back surgery disqualify me???

HELLO OUT THERE,
I AM A BURNED OUT TEACHER LOOKING FOR A NEW CAREER. TWENTY YEARS AGO I HAD BACK SURGURY, MY BACK IS BASICALLY FINE NOW. I'M NOT WORRIED ABOUT DRIVING, BUT HEAVY LIFTING WILL DAMAGE MY BACK. ARE THERE DRIVING JOBS OUT THERE THAT DON'T REQUIRE LOADING/UNLOADING?
WILL COMPANIES DISQUALIFY ME ONCE THEY SEE MY BACK SURGERY SCAR. I AM DESPERATELY SEEKING ADVICE/WISDOM BEFORE I PURSUE A CDL.
THANK YOU! Rich1002
Old 10-21-2001, 03:07 PM
blubird

Default Rich...

In a word... NO! It will not disqualify you. As long as you can pass the physical you are OK. I have had 2 back surgeries in the past 15 years, the last one 5 years ago and easily pass the physical, the doc usually asks about the scars and any problems ,I tellem no and I'm passed after a few toe touch's.And honestly something that long ago and no problems I wouldn't bring it up unless asked.
As far as the back holding up. Well to be quite honest it actually feels BETTER driving local for the last year and a half , and doing all unloads myself then it ever did when I did none, and OTR.
But yes,if you're worried about that, there are companies that advertise mostly "no touch" and drop and hooks.

But you'll play heck as a newbie getting those gravy jobs.
Old 10-21-2001, 03:54 PM
wallyg8tor

Default The true words....

of a Sadist!

"As far as the back holding up. Well to be quite honest it actually feels BETTER driving local for the last year and a half , and doing all unloads myself then it ever did when I did none, and OTR."

Just plain sick, I tell you. ROFLMAO. Jus pickin on you Blubird, I'm sure you don't find supreme pleasure in pain.