Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Layover's Lounge

Layover's Lounge Our local discussion forum where you can discuss just about anything that is related to the trucking industry.

Old 10-17-2007, 06:01 PM

nomadic is on a distinguished road
Default Automatic transmissions in the trucking industry!

hello,

I am currently a truck driving student with allstate career, my classmates an instructors are having a debate,an i wanted to ask current truckers what they thought, are automatic transmissions in trucks good or bad in the industry? why?
Old 10-17-2007, 08:14 PM

joehill is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Automatic transmissions in the trucking industry!

I've driven both, and I like standard shift myself...

Auto's are cool in congested urban area's ,but out west in the mountains I prefer to shift..

Automatics are supposed to deliver better fuel economy. I never noticed much of a difference.When I ran one, it was on a Northeast regional fleet, and when your waiting an hour and a half to cross the GWB, and riding your brake all day, it's hard to figure your fuel milage.

If they really are better on fuel, then I think they will be standard equipment, industry wide, before long..
Old 10-17-2007, 08:47 PM

fozzy is an unknown quantity at this point