Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Layover's Lounge

Layover's Lounge Our local discussion forum where you can discuss just about anything that is related to the trucking industry.

Old 12-12-2008, 06:00 PM

wolf597222 is on a distinguished road
Question minimum wage for truckers???

Since all of you guys gave me such good advice before, Iím once again here asking for some help. As some of you may remember I found a job with a flat bed company and I was in heaven. Pay, home time, everything was perfect and more than I expected.

Three weeks ago however the company switched from mile pay to percent pay. It was basically a take it or leave it decision for the employees and owner operators. Company drivers where to get 26% of the load, I- passes and tolls out of our own pocket, O/O where to get 75% of the load.

Of course, since I need the experience, driving for 5 Ĺ month now as a solo driver, I stayed. Iím putting in an average of 55 Ė 70 hours per week, driving anywhere from 2300 Ė 3000 miles.

Since Iím getting paid by 26%, I canít make it financially anymore. My first paycheck with 26% came out to $230, the following to $390 for one week. Today was payday again, and again, I made a whooping $239.11 for 4 loads delivered and 68 hours of work. When I would break that down in hourly wage, I would make less than minimum wage and if they would have to pay me by the mile I would have made $912 gross for that week.