Truck Driver and Trucking Forums

Go Back   Truck Driver and Trucking Forums > Trucking Forums > Layover's Lounge

Layover's Lounge Our local discussion forum where you can discuss just about anything that is related to the trucking industry.

Old 02-22-2009, 07:07 PM

angeleyes31 is on a distinguished road
Default Speeding Tickets

Well, I had the opportunity lately of getting a speeding ticket. Going 14 over the speed limit, and I got slapped with a $150 ticket.

I have never had a speeding ticket before. I am a reasonable and responsible driver. I just wasn't thinking this day. I seen the cop too late and got caught up in his speed trap.

My question is, how high have you had to pay for a speeding ticket if you got one recently, or in the past?

I just felt the speeding ticket was rather steep, but I don't really know how high they can go. I know if I do wrong, I do have to pay the price.

Thanks for your input!
Old 02-22-2009, 07:24 PM

davesoest is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Speeding Tickets

Thats not bad. My last one was near Jeferson city Mo. in a pick up, going 63 in a 55. It cost me $212.00 if I remember right. It was also one of those counties that the lawyers all told me would not work with you to reduce it to a non moving violation. They said it was higher because I had a cdl, even though I was in my pick up.....??
Old 02-22-2009, 08:07 PM

bigjoe is an unknown quantity at this point

Angeleyes, if you have truly never had a speeding ticket before and have been driving for several years you can likely plead it down.

You will most likely need a lawyer for this and the fine for a lesser offense may be the same...but you have protected your CDL. I can't emphazise how important that is.

DO NOT PLEAD GUILTY AND JUST PAY THE FINE>

A couple years or so I got my first ticket in over 20 years. I did some research and found www.tixnix.com. You fill out some information and your profile is forwarded to local attorneys where you received the ticket.